Home Commercial book Wellington Bookstore and Publishers Win 2021 Aotearoa Book Industry Awards

Wellington Bookstore and Publishers Win 2021 Aotearoa Book Industry Awards


The children's section of Schrödinger's Books in Petone, Lower Hutt.


The children’s section of Schrödinger’s Books in Petone, Lower Hutt.

A Petone Bookstore was named New Zealand Bookstore of the Year. And publishers in the capital have also cleaned up, with Mākaro Press and Bridget Williams Books winners of the 2021 Aotearoa Book Industry Awards.

At an awards ceremony on September 29, Schrödinger’s books on Jackson St in Petone won the Nielsen Book NZ Bookshop of the Year award.

Judges Robbie Egan, Anahera Morehu and Peter Vial said the store, which opened in September 2019, had it all: “Beautiful physical space, striking windows and merchandising excellence, an emphasis on a personalized customer service and commercial and community reach beyond their own doors. . “

* End of NZ Landscape Book
* A vibrant literary scene reflected in the long list of the 2021 Ockham NZ Book Awards
* Unity Books best sellers in Wellington this week.

Schrödinger's Books won the New Zealand Bookstore of the Year award at the 2021 Aotearoa Book Industry Awards.


Schrödinger’s Books won the New Zealand Bookstore of the Year award at the 2021 Aotearoa Book Industry Awards.

The store had developed a specialization in manga – Japanese comics and graphic novels – which set it apart from the local competition.

Mākaro Press won the Nielsen Book Editor of the Year Award.

Wellington-based independent publishing house published Becky Manawatu’s book AuÄ“, at Rachel Kerr Victory Park and that of Kirsten Warner The sound of broken glass.

“The winner is an editor who has used their expertise and risk-taking and made outstanding contributions to New Zealand literature,” the judges said in a statement.

Imagine decolonization, by Bridget Williams Books (BWB), jointly received the Booksellers’ Choice Award with Manawatu’s AuÄ“.

Published in the BWB Texts series in March 2020, the book has been reprinted four times, attracting a large readership across Aotearoa.

It was written by Bianca Elkington, Moana Jackson, Rebecca Kiddle, Ocean Ripeka Mercier, Mike Ross, Jennie Smeaton, and Amanda Thomas, and explores the impact of colonization on Maori and non-Maori.

The award was chosen by booksellers nationwide, identifying the book that had a particular impact on readers and bookstores over the past year, according to a statement from Bridget Williams Books.

Other award winners included Rachel Eadie at Penguin Random House New Zealand, for Emerging NZ Publisher of the Year, Rafael Moreira of McLeods Booksellers (Rotorua) for Emerging NZ Bookstore of the Year, and Bridget Williams of BWB, for a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Complete list of winners

Book Publisher of the Year: Makaro press

Emerging Editor of the Year: Rachel Eadie, Penguin Random House New ZealanD

Bookshop of the year: Schrödinger Bookstore, Petone

Emerging Bookseller of the Year: Rafael Moreira, McLeods booksellers, Rotorua

Best seller award (for the best seller in volume and value between April 2020 and March 2021): Super good (Chelsea Winter, Random House New Zealand)

Marketing and advertising strategy of the year: HarperCollins NZ for Impossible: my story by Stan Walker, Campaign Director Rebecca Thorne

Aotearoa Booksellers’ Choice Award (co-winners)

  • AuÄ“ (Becky Manawatu, Makaro Press)
  • Imagine decolonization (Rebecca Kiddle, Bianca Elkington, Moana Jackson, Ocean Mercier, Mike Ross, Jennie Smeaton and Amanda Thomas, BWB)

Seller of the year: Jessica Rice, Penguin Random House New Zealand

Innovation Award in the Book Industry: Allen & Unwin

Lifetime Achievement Award: Bridget Williams of BWB